celebrity news

Nicki Minaj To Perform And Host The 2023 MTV Video Music Awards!

Barbzzzzzzz! Nicki Minaj is set to take center stage at this year’s MTV Video Music Awards as the hostess with the mostest and performer!

Nicki previously took on the role of hosting last year alongside fellow rappers LL Cool J and Jack Harlow. She also reached a major milestone in her career that night as she accepted the Video Vanguard Award, following a nine-minute performance of her fan-favorite hits.

According to reports from Billboard magazine, Nicki will be the only host for this year’s award show. She will also be performing her recently released single, ” Last Time I Saw You.”

Following the big announcement Nick itook to Instagram in a full-body mirror selfie with a caption that read, β€œWhy would they let Papa Bear Muva host the VMA’s this year chi! πŸ˜¬πŸ€«πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ Oh it’s gon be a KI. not πŸ”‘. A ki πŸ€ͺ b!ch!!!!! See you on the 12th!!! NEW YORK STAND TF UP!!!!!!! @vmas (p.s. I kept this Chanel jacket for 10 years knowing I’d fit back into it one day. Lmfao manifestation!!! That good β€˜ol SAGITTARIUS ♐️

This year’s ceremony will be full of excitement with performances from A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie, Future, Cardi B, Megan Thee Stallion, Lil Wayne, and more.

According to reports from XXL, Diddy is set to receive the Global Icon Award.

SZA is in the lead with a total of six nominations, while Doja Cat and Nicki are neck at neck with five nominations each.

Be sure to check out the full list of nominees below and leave your predictions in our comments.

2023 MTV Video Music Award Nominees

Video of the Year
Doja Cat – “Attention”
Miley Cyrus – “Flowers
Nicki Minaj – “Super Freaky Girl”
Olivia Rodrigo – “Vampire”
Sam Smith, Kim Petras – “Unholy”
SZA – “Kill Bill”
Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero”

Artist of the Year
Doja Cat
Nicki Minaj
Taylor Swift

Song of the Year
Miley Cyrus – “Flowers”
Olivia Rodrigo – “Vampire”
Rema & Selena Gomez – “Calm Down”
Sam Smith, Kim Petras – “Unholy”
Steve Lacy – “Bad Habit”
SZA – “Kill Bill”
Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero”

Best New Artist
Ice Spice
Peso Pluma
ReneΓ© Rapp

Push Performance of the Year
August 2022: Saucy Santana – “Booty”
September 2022: Stephen Sanchez – “Until I Found You”
October 2022: JVKE – “Golden Hour”
November 2022: Flo Milli – “Conceited”
December 2022: ReneΓ© Rapp – “Colorado”
January 2023: Sam Ryder – “All The Way Over”
February 2023: Armani White – “GOATED”
March 2023: FLETCHER – “Becky’s So Hot”
April 2023: TOMORROW X TOGETHER – “Sugar Rush Ride”
May 2023: Ice Spice – “Princess Diana”
June 2023: FLO – “Losing You”
July 2023: Lauren Spencer Smith – “That Part”

Best Collaboration
David Guetta & Bebe Rexha – “I’m Good (Blue)”
Post Malone, Doja Cat – “I Like You (A Happier Song)”
Diddy feat. Bryson Tiller, Ashanti, Yung Miami – “Gotta Move On”
KAROL G, Shakira – “TQG”
Metro Boomin with The Weeknd, 21 Savage, and Diddy – “Creepin’ (Remix)”
Rema & Selena Gomez – “Calm Down”

Best Hip-Hop
Diddy feat. Bryson Tiller, Ashanti, Yung Miami – “Gotta Move On”
DJ Khaled feat. Drake & Lil Baby – “Staying Alive”
GloRilla & Cardi B – “Tomorrow 2”
Lil Uzi Vert – “Just Wanna Rock”
Lil Wayne feat. Swizz Beatz & DMX – “Kant Nobody”
Metro Boomin feat. Future – “Superhero (Heroes and Villains)”
Nicki Minaj – “Super Freaky Girl”

Best R&B
Alicia Keys feat. Lucky Daye – “Stay”
ChlΓΆe feat. Chris Brown – “How Does It Feel”
Metro Boomin with the Weeknd, 21 Savage, and Diddy – “Creepin’ (Remix)”
SZA – “Shirt”
Toosii – “Favorite Song”
Yung Bleu & Nicki Minaj – “Love in the Way”

Best Direction
Doja Cat – “Attention” – Directed by Tanu MuiΓ±o
Drake – “Falling Back” – Director X (Julien Christian Lutz)
Kendrick Lamar – “Count Me Out” – Directed by Dave Free & Kendrick Lamar
Megan Thee Stallion – “Her” – Directed by Colin Tilley
Sam Smith, Kim Petras – “Unholy” – Directed by Floria Sigismondi
SZA – “Kill Bill” – Directed by Christian Breslauer
Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero” – Directed by Taylor Swift

Best Cinematography
Adele – “I Drink Wine” – Cinematography by Adam Newport-Berra
Ed Sheeran – “Eyes Closed” – Cinematography by Natasha Baier
Janelle Monae – “Lipstick Lover” – Cinematography by Allison Anderson
Kendrick Lamar – “Count Me Out” – Cinematography by Adam Newport-Berra
Miley Cyrus – “Flowers” – Cinematography by Marcell Rev
Olivia Rodrigo – “Vampire” – Cinematography by Russ Fraser
Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero” – Cinematography by Rina Yang

Best Visual Effects
Fall Out Boy – “Love From the Other Side” – Visual Effects by Thomas Bailey and Josh Shaffner
Harry Styles – “Music for a Sushi Restaurant” – Visual Effects by Chelsea Delfino and Black Kite Studios
Melanie Martinez – “VOID” – Visual Effects by Carbon
Nicki Minaj – “Super Freaky Girl” – Visual Effects by Max Colt and Sergio Mashevskyi
Sam Smith, Kim Petras – “Unholy” – Visual Effects by Max Colt / FRENDER
Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero” – Visual Effects by Parliament

Best Choreography
BLACKPINK – “Pink Venom” – Choreography by Kiel Tutin, Sienna Lalau, Lee Jung (YGX), Taryn Cheng (YGX)
Dua Lipa – “Dance the Night (From Barbie the Album)” – Choreography by Charm LaDonna
Jonas Brothers – “Waffle House” – Choreography by Jerry Reece
Megan Thee Stallion – “Her” – Choreography by Sean Bankhead
Panic! at the Disco – “Middle of a Breakup” – Choreography by Monika Felice Smith
Sam Smith, Kim Petras – “Unholy” – Choreography by (LA)HORDE – Marine Brutti, Jonathan Debrouwer, Arthur Harel

Best Art Direction
boygenius – “the film” – Art Direction by Jen Dunlap
BLACKPINK – “Pink Venom” – Art Direction by Seo Hyun Seung (GIGANT)
Doja Cat – “Attention” – Art Direction by Spencer Graves
Lana Del Rey feat. Jon Batiste – “Candy Necklace” – Art Direction by Brandon Mendez
Megan Thee Stallion – “Her” – Art Direction by Niko Philipides
SZA – “Shirt” – Art Direction by Kate Bunch

Best Editing
BLACKPINK – “Pink Venom” – Editing by Seo Hyun Seung (GIGANT)
Kendrick Lamar – “Rich Spirit” – Edited by Grason Caldwell
Miley Cyrus – “River” – Edited by Brandan Walter
Olivia Rodrigo – “Vampire” – Edited by Sofia Kerpan and David Checel
SZA – “Kill Bill” – Edited by Luis Caraza Peimbert
Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero” – Edited by Chancler Haynes

Leave a Reply